Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Best Of Both Worlds

I was taking a ride for a change of surroundings without any intention of looking for a blip.  Shame on me!  I don't know when that attitude seeped into my life because there was a time I wouldn't leave the house without my gear.  When I saw this view developing, I knew I needed to find a place to stop.  There wasn't anywhere to pull over so I stopped in the road.  I was really in the middle of nowhere and there wasn't a car in sight.  I did the best I could with my iPhone. 

It was hot and it's going to keep hanging around 106 or higher for the foreseeable future. Those be June temps!  We shouldn't be in triple digits anymore. This isn't a dry heat, either.  It's gooey. This was the week I had scheduled to be in the mountains where it's 10-15 degrees cooler despite the elevation being only 2,000 ft more than at my house (5,000 vs 3,000).  That's rescheduled for Aug 16-21.  A birthday present to myself.  I've had September reservations for a year.  It's almost a nice feeling that after almost a decade of putting my life on hold to care for mom that I can reclaim whatever I have left of it.  That seems like a very selfish thing to say and makes me feel guilty for thinking like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.