Marionb

By Marionb

Definitely a Sunrise...

...worth coming north for...

Not bad for a start to Day One at the cottage, eh?... and whilst waiting for those colours to deepen, I watched a little mink scurry along the shore and slip into the water and head off across to the opposite shore..Life is good here...

It was a wonderful summer's day..yes, it is still summer, but there is a hint of autumn in the air..That tends to happen when August arrives...the air feels different somehow..and out come the sweaters and jackets..   This morning, while watching the sunrise, I was dressed in jeans, a flannel shirt and a hoodie! .. and I did not lighten up on the clothing until after lunch..in fact, I turned the heat on in the cottage and read my book under a quilt! By afternoon, however, it was too hot to sit in the sun..So typical of almost-August weather. 

This afternoon, around what would normally be nap time, my brother who has a cottage nearby called to say he was coming over for a visit and bringing his friend from Florida  - who comes to visit every summer - and they were bringing his dog Winston, a young Springer Spaniel...whom I had never met...the dog that is.. not the friend - I know him very well... 

Well, what a treat...Winston and his antics provided an afternoon of entertainment as we sat in the deck ..in the shade ...sipping wine while he raced everywhere, chasing birds and chipmunks, dashing in and out of the water and then coming to sit at our feet to ask politely for treats..As a cat person I was most impressed with Winston,  but thankful that I have a cat and one that is lazy and does not expect me to be otherwise..A dog would surely wear me out just being around all that energy! 

It was definitely a fun first day for my last fling at summer here at the cottage - the next time I come up it will be fall! So soon! yikes! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.