Nightlife

Luckily V is more of a "goer-out" than either I or her sister F. So she drove us onwards, this evening, to go out to Rio Scenarium, which is an eclectic nightclub, cum bar, cum restaurant (poor food), cum antiques emporium. It's located in an old building in the centre of Rio on Rua do Lavradio, which originally dates from the late 18th century. Looking at the map, and particularly the satellite view, shows incredibly long narrow buildings, where they would have been only natural light at the back of the building coming in through a cupola or skylight. I wonder whether they were originally dwelling houses at the front, with workshops or similar at the back. I kept trying to figure out what might have been original "features".

Rio Scenarium features live music as well as a throbbing disco floor, which we quickly vacated.... There were two singers on.... Mira Callado and then Sarah Si who came on just after 11pm. I would have happily stayed longer and listened to the latter, but our beds were calling.... It would seem that if Spotify is anything to go by, the former is a much bigger "thing" than the latter.

I might have had more energy in the evening if I hadn't (again) woken up early... I headed out for a walk through the breaking light, heading up to the Leme end of the beach (turn left out of the hotel). After breakfast, I headed out again, and did a massive walk through Bb and Dd's Rio barrio (via a cool hipster coffee place), over to the Pedro do Arpoador, and back along the Avenida Atlantica. I collapsed in a sweaty mess in my hotel room when I got back, and then later on headed down to the beach to have a look at the sea and to sit in the sun for a while. No chance of swimming. The surf is up and the red flags are out (has been like this most of the time). But I was able to paddle. Before we headed out, I met up with V and F in the upstairs pool. The air was chilly but the water was very warm, so we enjoyed a couple of caipirinhas whilst in the pool.

The extras give a flavour of my walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.