The Bee’s Knees

Thank you so much for your best wishes yesterday. I’m pleased to say I wake up feeling slightly more human, and thankfully, my Covid test is negative. I don’t normally bother testing as aches and pains and coughs are fairly regular occurrences, but this seemed worse than usual so I thought I’d better check - especially with a hospital appointment later in the week. 

Suffice to say, it’s been a quiet day - not what we’d planned which was a day with Daniel & Solveig. But I do manage some bee shots in the garden - the weather much more pleasant than we’ve expected. 

I rather like the stretched out pose this pollen-gatherer seems to have adopted, and for some reason, my thoughts go to his little knees - if bees have knees of course - and that phrase my parents used to use when describing something or someone  particularly smart; ‘Oh, she’s the bee’s knees in that outfit’ for example. Apparently the 1920s saw the rise of numerous such animal-related phrases - as the cat's pyjamas, cat's whiskers, cat's meow, gnat's elbow, monkey's eyebrows etc.(And these particular knees are best viewed large if you have time!)

Thank you also much for your lovely comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s squirrel shots - all very much appreciated.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.