Mama Squirrel

A visit to see Anglesey’s red squirrels is always going to be a joy. Now full disclosure - this visit actually took place yesterday, and I know I’m challenging the rules here. But this was such a wonderful photographic opportunity, I ended up with around 800 shots and there’s no way I had time to download, edit and select with our anniversary celebrations taking priority.  And it really seems a shame not to share these cute little creatures. Besides, I’m unable to move far from the sofa today - not the result of last night’s celebrations, but the effect of the antibiotics I’ve had to start taking - so I’m not up to anything more than faffing on my iPad. Of course, it could be Covid, and if I’m no better tomorrow, I’ll do a test ….. 

We sit quietly  for something over two hours, watching squirrels jumping through the branches, climbing down trunks and coming closer to eat the nuts we’ve brought. Some are tiny, babies  new this year, and there are still heavily pregnant females waiting to give birth. Some are dark blackish-brown, others the more usual red. Some have completely lost their gorgeous tufty years as part of the summer moult, others have a few fine hairs sprouting from their ear tips, while a few wear those characteristic tufts with pride. 

It’s not just squirrels; we’re visited by woodpeckers, nuthatches, blackbirds, tits and chaffinches - and most excitingly for me, we see a gorgeous jay. And round our feet are families of robins, the fledglings even tamer than their parents, in various stages of gaining their red breasts. 

So now I come to my second apology: I just can’t choose my favourite shots, so there  are several collages, and even then it’s hard to decide between the pregnant female and two rather cheeky individuals. It’s squirrel overkill, I know, but please indulge me! 

Finally, thank you so much for your best wishes, stars and hearts for yesterday’s ‘Jackdaw Celebration’. You’re all so very kind. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.