Plus ça change...

By SooB

Shower buddy

I don’t cope well with time changes. I know travelling west is easier, but I still felt rubbish this morning (at 1.30am, 3.15am, and then from 5.30am when I finally gave up trying to go back to sleep.

MrB and I had a little stroll out to see the sea this morning, but the sargasso weed stopped us paddling. Also the crushing heat (even though it was not yet 8am. It gets hot back home, but this humid heat is another thing altogether, even if the temperature is the same.

Off then to the car hire place (very friendly chap and some iguanas just hanging out on a wall) and then south for cash point and shopping at Playa de Carmen and, not a moment too soon, picking TallGirl up from the bus stop where her group had left her on their way to the airport.

Our apartment here in Akumal is fabulous. Huge, with many terraces and our en suite is effectively outdoors (but in a cool expensive way, not a bath tub in a field way!) Hence this chap sharing the experience.

We then headed off for lunch at the cafe TallGirl has been eating at for the last two weeks, then (after a torrential downpour) off for a pilgrimage to Coba, which has changed massively since we were last there. It was all a bit hot for me, and I was secretly pleased that you are no longer allowed to climb the big pyramid.

Dinner back at the cafe, and I will sleep very well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.