Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The morning cuppa

Regular followers will be surprised not to see a bunch of happy walkers in my blip. At 0830 the first group set off for Dead Water Fell to walk to the Kielder Stane. It snowed overnight but was sunny, bright and showery at the start. At 1000 the second group left Haltwhistle for Stonehaugh. They walked to Steel Rigg today. (There was an anxious moment when everyone confessed they thought that someone else on the team had the first aid kit!!)

Between starts I went for tea and a bacon sandwich in a local café. Here I met two delightful older people. They both go every morning for a cup of tea and a chat. "We're usually first in here" said one. This gentleman was going shopping and would return for lunch. He told me he thought this was much better than sitting in the house and watching daytime TV. Coming here gets him out every day and he enjoys the chat. I enjoyed it too.

I've updated the website with photos of the first walkers if you do by any chance want to see them, plus pictures from the exhibition including some of the children's art. Haltwhistle Walking Festival is 10 years old.

Now I'm waiting to hear how the walks went. I expect they are all in the pub they are all too tired to phone me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.