A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Vanessa, Framed

Our allium plant was the most popular spot in the yard this afternoon. Amongst the bees and other tiny pollinators swarming the purple globes, I spotted two different butterflies. The smaller one was a silver spotted skipper, which I’m familiar with, so I focused on this beauty: an American Painted Lady, vanessa virginiensis. A new variety for me and I’m so happy to have her visit, and hope she stays. Sadly, her lifespan is only 2-4 weeks • A warm day but humidity levels are rising with potential thunderstorms this evening. Like the American Painted Lady, rain is most welcome. Despite the forecast I watered the gardens and picked a yellow squash, zucchini, cucamelons and our first little tomatoes :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.