Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Welcome Home!

We pulled into our driveway about 4:30 this afternoon after getting an 8:30 start this morning.  Stopped a couple of times on the way to give Hubs a break and to eat a quick lunch.  It's nice to be home and the first thing I did was run out back to see what was happening in the milkweed patch.  The first thing I saw were two big fat Fifth instar caterpillars doing their walkabouts.  I scooped them both up and put them in a container - just couldn't help myself.  They will happily pupate in there and then I can be assured that nothing get them.  I also scooped up a tiny first instar cat I found hiding a bunch of blossoms.  A more thorough inventory will follow tomorrow.  

And while I was peeking at the big fat cats in the milkweed, I was joined by a Great Black Wasp who was enjoying the flower nectar.  She didn't care one bit that I was there.  

We've unloaded almost everything other than sheets and towels from the rig and I will start a load of laundry tonight.  Tomorrow we will finish up any odds and ends in the RV then pick Jax up at 11:30.  Oh, I can't wait for some major puppy love!  I miss that damned dog.

The cat are being very clingy even though SIL was here while we were away.  People sometimes think that cats don't need affection or human contact, but the fact is that they do.  They are just as needy in their way as the dog is.  And of course, they shed more.  

We had a wonderful visit with the family in SC.  I hate that it's taken so long to get there but between pandemic and cancer, two years kind of got away from us.  We will plan another trip soon although probably not in the RV.

Dark with salted caramel today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.