Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Huntress

It is very unusual to see an Eastern Amberwing in our garden as they are dragons who love water.  In fact, this may only be the second time I've ever seen one here.  Definitely had to be blipped.  This is our area's smallest dragon measuring only about one inch in length.  In spite of her small size, she's a skilled hunter and perhaps that is what brought her to our garden.  She's perched atop the large buddleia which has just finally started blooming.

We picked up Jax at 11:30 this morning and he was so thrilled to see us - tons of wiggles and kisses.  And, he had his first bath so he smells really nice and his coat is so soft.  We were not sure how he'd take to bathing since he is weird about water, but the young woman who groomed him said he was fine.  We are happy to have him home and he's equally happy to be here.  

Our temps tomorrow are headed into the high 90's with humidity in the 40's so it's not going to be a pleasant day.  I will be looking for indoor activities to keep Jax entertained - maybe a trip to one of the big box stores.  

I ended up collecting six big  late instar monarch cats and putting them in an enclosure.  Five have already spun their pads and are hanging from the top of the enclosure; the sixth is still eating on milkweed cuttings.  I have a second container with two extremely tiny caterpillars that I'll raise.  More will follow, I'm sure.  I enjoy this process every year.  Last year I planted more swamp milkweed in the garden and its really paying off in terms of monarch eggs.  Will definitely be planting more for next year.  

The cats were both very clingy last night but seem to be settled back into a semi-normal routine now.  

Had a nice FT chat with my parents late this afternoon.  They seem to be fully recovered from the effects of covid (thank goodness) and have been getting out in between heat waves in their area.  

Hubs is cooking dinner so I think I may pour myself a glass of wine.  Plain dark today - two squares just because.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.