Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fabulous Flyer

We  are at a peak right now for adult male ruby throats and the battles for feeding rights are epic.  Honestly, the females are every bit as territorial and fractious as the males so there is a constant angry chatter every time I step foot out in the garden.  The chases are sometimes mere inches off the ground; at other times high up into the sky.  I was having fun with the z8 and it's freakishly fast fps which allowed for shots like this.  

Meanwhile, the species of bumble bees in the garden has dropped to basically 2 now from a high of 4 last month.  Both of the big digger wasp species  are still spending time in the milkweed although the Great Golden Digger numbers are dropping.  The Goldens have finished their nests are are now just simply enjoying the pollen, finishing out their days in the garden.  I'm not sure if the Great Blacks are done with their burrows since I am not sure where they are nesting.  

Jax has been at day care all day so will hopefully be a pooped pup when I pick him up soon.  Hubs went with me for my oncology appointment today.  I am going to stop the medication for a 60 day period to see if that eases the pain in my hands/wrists.  If the pain is being caused by the drugs, I will have some very difficult decisions to make and I won't go into them lightly at all.  But one step at a time.

Before my appointment Hubs and I went out for an overpriced and slightly; underwhelming lunch.  But, we got to sit outside with a nice breeze and perfect temps so I'd still call it a win.  

I think I will have dark with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.