Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tigers in the Garden

I recently posted the typical Eastern Tiger Swallowtail and thought I'd add to my yearly record with this "dark morph" female Eastern Tiger.  The dark form is always female and much less common than the typical yellow females.  To find one in such pristine condition was an added bonus.  The flower she's on is native bee balm/monarda.  See Extra for a side/lateral view - equally gorgeous!

I left Hubs with Jax this afternoon and headed out to several of my favorite places for wildlife and photos.  I spent over 3 hours lost in my little world, feeling stress just melt away.  This has been a difficult period for us as we adjust to losing Virginia and I've certainly had my share of ups and downs.  Today was a gift.

I've got some bruising on my neck where I got the injections yesterday but that's normal and I feel fine.  The nurse from the surgical center called to check on me which was nice.  My neck feels pretty good today although the relief won't last long.  

We had an unpleasant surprise this morning.  Hubs took the trash out at the usual time (we can't put it out the night before because of the bears and other wildlife).  Well, in the hour between putting it out and the trash truck coming, a bear had drug the can about 20 feet and carried ALL of the contents into an overgrown part of our property next to my main pollinator garden.  Hubs, bless him, has cleaned the whole thing up - what we don't want is the bear returning for snacks.  Frustrating to have this happen because we are always so careful.  I guess our trash smelled especially good.

Dark with dried cherries today, one of my faves.  

xo
Debbi

PS. I returned the Laowa 90mm lens today.  First time I've ever sent any gear back early.  I honestly didn't like the lens at all.  Which is disappointing since I know several people here on Blipfoto who use the Laowa macros with great results.  I found it difficult and frustrating to us and was happy to have my trusty Nikkor 105 f2/8 on board today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.