House Wren ...

... with a little snack.

I was sitting on the deck this morning enjoying some sunshine when I saw this little house wren out of the corner of my eye.  As I swiveled to see it better I was automatically raising my camera ... as any good blipper would do.  And that's when I spied his little snack!  It's not one but what appears to be two grasshoppers.  I suspect he might be feeding some young ones. 

After lunch we went up to Jacobsburg State park for a walk along Sobers Run trail.  It was a lovely day ... not too hot.  As we were walking over a small bridge over Sobers Run we looked down to watch a young woman and her dog in the run.  And that's when saw the most incredible sight! Never in our life have we seen anything like this!  

If you have a look at my Extra photo you will see what I'm referring to.  On the ground along side the water was a pile of horse manure (they are allowed on these trails!).  Of course, horse manure isn't all that interesting but what made this incredible was the fact that there were dozens of Eastern tiger swallowtail butterflies on it!  I'm only going to assume that there was something in the manure that would attract the butterflies ... yuck! Has anyone ... maybe someone with horses ... even seen this happening before?  I'd be very interested in knowing the reasoning for the attraction.  

Can't say I've EVER posted a picture of manure before!  But I tried to crop the picture to minimize it! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.