Walking and the joys of public transport

Taken car in for service so thought I'd nip to see Terry at his shop then perhaps call at Asda for a few bits before going home on the bus.
Since I don't use the bus regularly I forgot Arriva buses are not running (strike action) and Arriva is the only bus that I can catch home unless I want to finish my journey with a long slog up the hill.
Therefore I was at the bus stop with a heavy bag of shopping when I suddenly remembered there are no 89s running. Oh no! Caught the 10A which stops near the station at Thatto Heath and I set off on the long slog.
Had to stop a few times to get my breath despite having used my inhaler pre-climb!
Fast forward to the afternoon and got to pick car up - not so bad walking downhill to catch a bus so off I went and waited ages at the bus stop as the bus was late.
Eventually arrived to collect car - how glad I was to see it! Salesman was hoping to persuade me to trade it in for a brand new model - he was disappointed. Kept saying he'd do me a very good deal - it's not a very good deal unless you want it though! My car is 4 years old and has done a little over 10,000 miles so it's still very much like new. Maybe next year I'll trade it in but it won't be for a brand new one.
At home I wondered about those people who rely on the buses - how are they are managing without their usual transport. Not everyone can afford taxis! 
I took the cobbled street photo because there aren't many of them left now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.