Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Clock & Bull

My commute to work crosses Bedford River New Bridge, a bridge so new that it does not appear on Google maps or Satellite view, but it is there on Street view, and it affords a lovely view of the much older Town Bridge. I had intended to blip that today but sadly my images are rubbish – looking straight at the sunrise reflecting off the water with way too much contrast. So it hardly matters that I wasn't quite quick enough on the draw to catch a massive flight of geese taking off and spreading out as they raced towards me and flew under the bridge on which I was standing. Exhilarating! You'll just have to take my word for it.

The office accommodation at work is undergoing a bit of a refurb and I've been sensible enough to keep my mouth shut. But today I was approached by senior management who had reached the conclusion that the layout wasn't really workable and was there any chance I might be able to improve upon it. So I did.

My search for a local NHS dentist prepared to register me as an NHS patient began on 27th June. The first dentist I approached said that if they had space on their books they would call me back within 24 hours and if I heard nothing that meant they had no space. 
I concluded that they had no space.
I tried another and was told to try again in August. 
I tried a third and they said that while they weren't taking any actual NHS patients, they could offer me a reasonably priced non-NHS service. Worthy of consideration I thought. 
So on Monday 1st August I phoned the second practice again and explained why I was phoning. “Oh bless you!” the receptionist said. “I'll have a word with our manager and if we have a space I'll call you back”.
And today she called me back. Yay! I'm registered with a local dentist as an NHS patient.

Here is a photo of a Clock & Bull (the clock does not tell the correct time)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.