FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Brighton Laines

Cheated on my pool this morning with a swim at Saltdean Lido while Bae went for a walk by the sea. The lido was built in 1938 and is currently under a £7.5m restoration project to bring the facilities back to former glory. It’s a 40m pool so 7m longer than Faversham.

The lido was only heated to 19C which felt chilly after the 28C I’m used to but it’s good practice for September when my pool temperature is turned down for the off season.

After my swim we took a walk 1 mile along the Saltdean undercliff walk to Molly’s Cafe for coffee and breakfast baps. We spotted BTN Bikes so I downloaded the app and rented one for 40 mins. So much fun although after my swim I was knackered!

Next a drive to Brighton Marina and a couple of beers in the sunshine. Bae got burnt as he refused to wear sunscreen or a hat. He was like a beetroot! Quick shop at Asda then home to spend time with Mr B the cat in the garden.

We caught the bus mid evening to Brighton and took a stroll on the windy Pier. I took photos of the funfair and enjoyed seeing all the lights and colour. Bae could not be persuaded to go on any fair rides so we headed to the Laines in search of food.

It was 930pm by then and much to our surprise most restaurants had stopped serving. We were getting tired and grumpy by this point and eventually found a pizzeria. Not the tapas we were hoping for but delicious all the same.

Spotted this wall art of Alice in Wonderland while walking through the Laines. I loved it!

The sun had taken its toll and we headed home for cool drinks, put my feet up (swollen from walking in sandals) and to watch another movie. This time I slept through most of it! Fell asleep and woke up to the sound of seagulls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.