Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Josie

Today I visited with a dying friend.   Josie was the one who emailed our book club 20 minutes before our zoom meeting in June to say “can we postpone because she thot she was having a heart attack and called 911.”  It wasn’t a heart attack..it was esophagus cancer.   She’s now at home with hospice, a caregiver and family in and out and enjoys visits with her many friends …and no responsibilities..   Herb knew her before I did..she was an excellent social worker who worked in his radiation therapy department… we met at department functions (she was the last one to stop talking and  leave a party)  and have been in the same book club for maybe 30 years.  She's been to every Parker Island BC Camp I think.   She loves ART big time and has traveled many places just to see very obscure and eclectic works.  She tried to talk me into being a docent at the contemporary UW gallery with her but that was beyond my capabilities..  We’ve had so many fun times,  and so much laughter,  it’s hard to imagine there won’t be years more.  We’ve always learned a lot from Josie, the book club will never be the same, and now we’re learning how to die with dignity and grace and humor.

She wanted photos with this painting  (Mother’s Worst Photograph’s #1.  sorry about the reflection) ) She came to my first studio, in the 80s I think,  and just bought it.   So I snapped one of her she generously says I can blip. 

I thought she looked pretty good and am thinking we will have yet another visit.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.