An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

"It's Hardly Cricket!"

This quaint old English expression was said when something was done that was unsportsmanlike, or unfair. Cricket being a fair, 'gentleman's game' and all that.

And more pertinently, this was clearly not shot at a cricket match - I don't reckon it wise to sit around on a tiny camping stool with a lens the size of Belgium swinging in the cool breeze, more than the bowler's arm, later today, as I said that I wanted. The lurgy might seem to be in abatement but there's no need to tempt fate and after all, this backdated Blip from the same ground last year is about the only time I've tried to snap a cricket match and my inexperience could render an unblippable best shot.

There's cricket there most weekends and with the season just started, no doubt I'll get there sooner or later.

Thanks to all for getting yesterday's Chase the Moon blip into the Spotlight, always feels special and is really appreciated!

So to this blip - Hong Kong Garden (Music link, there) was going to be my original title, to fit in with the Siouxsie and the Banshees track (googling the track name brought up SO many Chinese food restaurants and takeways, you wouldn't believe!) and it did a little oriental looking, with the near-full moon sinking behind the Boathouse pub that is opposite to my flat.

Those insistent on me nursing my virus should be pleased to know that it took no more than a couple of minutes to shoot and I was back inside to download in a jiffy. I really wanted to retain the blue and so gave a different hue to the top and darkened down the grass area a fair bit, as it is lit by a security light - as is the left side of the magnificent tree that has appeared in my Blips a few times, coming into leaf, at long last, now. The sky is paling with the imminent dawn, though that is still an hour away.

Lens is (again!) Nikkor 10-24mm, set at 12mm, which is equivalent to about 18mm in 35mm terms. I cropped a tad from the left, too.

Don't forget to go in Large

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.