Wildfire

I really didn’t sleep well last night. It was hot, TT was snoring and the old lady next door got her milk delivered in the middle of the night – with the delivery van reversing down our track in the wee small hours.  I don’t know what the milk would have been like after sitting out in the heat for a good few hours.  TT went for another morning run.  I read my book then got up and read some more of my book in the garden. Then there were birthday gifts – more books.  Fortunately for TT (and me), we went to the bookshop yesterday!
 
TT and I then headed over to the coast to Blakeney with a plan to go for a coastal walk.  As we were getting near the coast we could see smoke in the distance, and assumed something was on fire.  We walked in the direction of Stiffkey, with a plan to stop for lunch in Morston.  It is a lovely flat and easy walk  that we have done before, and we were soon at Morston.  We walked up to the village, only to find our planned lunch venue was closed until further notice.  That was a huge disappointment.  We just continued on our way and it became clear to us that the smoke was right on the coast.  We soon realised that it was a coastal wildfire and we could see fire engines and fire fighters.  We walked as far as we could, but our way was barred, so we had no option but to retrace our steps.  I got blisters on my feet and was glad when we got back to the car.  We then drove home via the expensive supermarket in Holt.
 
I sat in the  garden with my feet up once we got home, and BB gave me a birthday gift – another book!  TT cooked a lovely birthday tea, and we enjoyed fizz and birthday cake.  Later there was more football watching for the boys.
 
This is as far as we could walk.  The extras are from the walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.