Bookshop With A View

Another very hot day.  TT started his day with a run.  I lay in bed and read my book. I was enjoying the peace, when a bin lorry reversed down our track to empty the bins of the three house.  I eventually got up and sat in the garden and read my book.  I kept moving from the sunshine to the shade in an effort to stay cool.
 
TT and I eventually set off for Ely.  For some reason we were talking about it a while back and decided we would visit it while we were on holiday.  TT had never been before, while I once had a very brief visit, as I changed trains on my way to Cambridge and had a bit of time to kill.  I had no real memory of it, apart from the cathedral.  We went for a wander and of course visited the cathedral.  It is magnificent, and you can understand why it is called the “ship of the fens”.  They were tuning the organ when we were visiting, which was not great on the ears/.  There was n exhibition of royal outfits from film and TV.  The dress which really caught my eye was a replica of the Queen’s coronation dress which had been made for The Crown.  We wandered through Ely and down to the river and picked up some provisions for a late picnic lunch in the shade.  Before we headed home we browsed in the wonderful Toppings book shop and a few purchases were made.  We then headed home, with a final stop off at Waitrose.
 
BB had a telephone consultation with the doctor today, who confirmed that his current drugs should be ok and to just keep taking them.
 
After tea  I finished my book – Bob Mortimer’s autobiography.  The ending almost brought a tea to my eye.  The boys were watching ladies football.  I went for a short walk around the village and could hear a Michael Buble concert which was taking place at an outdoor venue not too far away.  At the same time there was a deer barking in the field to the front of our holiday cottage and an owl screeching in the woods behind our cottage.  What a cacophony!  However the temperature had dropped and it was a lovely evening to be outside.  Later BB and I watched an old episode of Have I Got News for You, which was very funny.
 
There is a great view from the bookshop. There is a view of the interior of the tower in the extras plus the dress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.