Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Parting GIft

My last shift volunteering at the Commonwealth Games.  Looking back on the experience it really wasn't what I expected, but despite that I still feel a sense of satisfaction to have helped the games in my home city.  I got to meet many exceptional athletes and even today had the opportunity to chat to a Canadian badminton player who had been practising and was due to play tonight.  Only a few short minutes after I was chatting to her next opponent from Australia, who was interested to know what she'd said.  I respected both of them by giving the briefest of inconsequential details of our conversation.

As I left the Games, I was presented with a parting gift, which turned out to be an engraved athletics baton, complete with certificate of participation.  A lovely memento of my time at the Games.  We're now looking forward to tomorrow, going back to the Alexander Stadium for the final evening of athletics.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.