Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Another hot day

I woke up very early, so decided to go for a run with Xena before the heat of the day built up. Gavin ran 21km today, that's half a marathon, so his training is going okay. I ran considerably less than that! On my run we only came across two people and their dogs (at different places), and both were Hungarian Viszlas, such a coincidence. We also saw two deer - one ran across the path about 3m in front of us, Xena got a fright and then half heartedly chased after it but only for a few moments before coming back to me. The other deer was in the paddock with the horses, trying to find some green grass to eat.

It is exceptionally dry at the moment, Xena was kicking up dust as she was running next to me. The ground is hard and cracked and the grasses are all brown. I feel so sorry for the animals - yesterday we saw a large herd of cows trying to find something to eat in a very brown field. Even the birds seem more scarce. 

After breakfast Gavin and I went to Waitrose to get some groceries, and then after packing everything away it was nearly lunch time. We treated ourselves to lunch out at our local pub today, it was delicious. It's not really pub food, more upmarket than that but on a Sunday they have a good deal with their Sunday menu.

I then spent the next four hours doing the minutes of the camera club committee meeting from the other night, I never realised what a big job it is, but at least they are done and the first draft has been circulated for corrections and approval. 

Gavin went to the driving range at his golf club to hit some balls and was shocked to see how the drought has affected it. The grounds manager said they only have 12 days of water left to water the greens, they are taking water from their ponds and lakes but are not allowed to take water from the river that runs alongside the golf course. I guess if there is no rain they may have to shut the golf course.

I realised I had not taken any photos today, so we have just taken Xena out for a walk and I took this photo of the horse in the paddock - actually it is out of the paddock trying to find something to eat on that pathway. The deer was in the paddock again trying to find something to eat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.