Early morning rain

It is early morning, sometime before 7 am. An early start we have to head for the airport. It is raining quite heavily, though not cold. Breakfast in the hotel and checkout before hitting the road to Milan's Malpensa airport. Journey to the airport goes well, even though I decided to ignore instructions from the Satnav at one point as they did not agree with the road signs. Not sure where the Satnav wanted to send me, probably back into Switzerland.

We had a hire car which I wanted to to return with a full tank. Drove around the airport Terminals 1 and 2 looking for a service station. I know there used to be one close to one of the terminals, but I could not find it. Eventually we stumbles across an ERG service station and filled up, though it is not the one I remember being close to one of the terminals.

Having got through security, emigration etcetera I headed to the Ferrari shop to buy a shirt. At this point I discovered my wallet was still in the car. It was too late to do anything about it, or even report the loss to the police. After many phone calls to the car hire company during the course of the day they eventually confirmed the wallet had not been found, though we know where it was.

Evening spent cancelling cards, will need to apply for a new driving license when I have the means to pay the fee. The cash loss, which is no doubt the reason the wallet could not be found, was just under ?300 so it could have been worse I suppose. The main thing is the inconvenience. Slightly unfortunate end to an otherwise very successful trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.