Common Darter

I was looking for a blip in the garden this morning and saw a dragonfly flitting around the pond. It fortunately kept landing in the same place at the curled up dead top of leaf. I think it's a male common darter. I was able to get down low and photograph it with the red edging to the pond as background, but I assure you it is in the pond. A very quiet day today, spending some time outside reading on a lovely sunny day.

Whilst editing my photos I was listening to the Archers Omnibus, including the last episode featuring June Spencer as the family matriarch Peggy Woolley, who has retired aged 103. She appeared in the very first Archers episode on New Year's Day 1951 and bar a break of 7 years in the 50's to bring up her children, has been in the World's longest running soap opera ever since. She's a brilliant actress and what an amazing achievement. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.