The Kids Were up Early

I always think of the long tailed tits as 'the kids' as they go round in a very excitable little group. I opened the doors and windows as soon as I got up in a partly successful attempt to lower the temperature in the bungalow, and took the opportunity for a bit of watering and to photograph the birds on the feeder. 

I realised last night that the compressor on my fridge freezer must be broken and probably had been for a day or two. So I ordered a new fridge freezer from John Lewis last night that will hopefully be delivered on Friday. This afternoon I cleared out all the defrosted food from the freezer and separated the recyclable items from the food waste that has gone in the general waste bin - fortunately it's the week that particular bin will be collected on Thursday. The fridge freezer was left by the previous owners and I have been here nearly 6 years, so I guess the very hot summer we're having was the last straw for it! G is kindly freezing a bottle of water and some freezer packs for me each day to keep the daily food I buy chilled in a freezer bag. (I also tipped over a glass and broke it, and the freezer bag I took shopping turned out to have a broken zip and couldn't be opened - hopefully that's my 3 pieces of bad luck). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.