Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Fire drills

Last week I had to do another orientation at the hospital.  This one included CPR and a long lecture by the Chief of Security (I forget his official title) on fire drills and procedures.  I learned the difference between three fire extinguishers and not to use water where there may be something plugged in to electricity.  As you can imagine, in a hospital everything is plugged in so that it can go "ping."  He looked like a bikie and admitted he was a former fireman.  He also gave some handy hints on home fire safety which included having working fire alarms, leaving keys in deadlocks and always watching something cooking.  I neglected this last piece of advice this afternoon and left a pot full of water steaming away on the stove and got distracted with something else.  My cupboards above the stove got steam cleaned but no harm done.  It reminded me of our training and so it seemed a good idea to get the tinies out to practice their drills.  They really are hopeless don't you think, at least attach your hoses to a water supply if you are trying to put out a non electrical fire.

Maggy and I visited the hospital today.  She was calmer but still excitable, particularly when getting lots of pats.  I heard one of the staff say "having that dog visit has made my day".  Comments like that make it so worthwhile.

One ward closed off for covid.  My PCR test I had yesterday came back negative for everything (Covid, flu A & B and RSV) so happy days for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.