Enjoying the View

But it didn’t last.

We walked along the Coastal Path towards St Monans and had just stopped for a seat, when the dog who attacked Geordie two years ago appeared, off the lead, and launched itself at my poor boy. I tried to kick it away but it bit him in several places. Geordie was cowering and squealing behind the seat. I finally kicked it right in the face and it backed off just as the owner appeared. ( Of course I don’t believe it’s acceptable to hurt a dog but I will cause pain to another dog to stop it hurting mine).
The dog is an Akita and known for being aggressive. Many people won’t walk their dogs on the coastal path for fear of meeting it. I shouted at the owner that she must keep it on the lead and away from other dogs. She said sorry and walked on.
I walked home with a very frightened Geordie and cleaned all his wounds. We both feel traumatised, but at least I don’t have bites and skin tears like my poor boy. His nature changed after he was attacked the last time. And this will probably make him even more frightened of other dogs.
I photographed his wounds and contacted his vet who just said to clean them twice daily and if they look infected they will give him antibiotics. I know from past experience that the woman won’t pay the vet bills.

It’s wee Maggie’s 4th birthday today so we are going along to see her late afternoon, hopefully that will cheer Geordie up a bit.

Extra of the bites on his back. He has one more on his side and two on the inside of his back leg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.