Red admiral.

What a ghastly day.  The morning was OK. Lazy as usual with crosswords,  Wordle and the current book. The postman knocked on the door just before lunch with a recorded delivery letter and on the front a Sherriff’s Court sticker. This rang a bit of an alarm bell and when I opened it, it got worse.  It was from an Edinburgh solicitor who were looking for a payment of over £3,000 plus 8% interest. The claimant was the driver of a car I had a bump with in a car park last year.  My car wasn’t damaged, theirs had a small dent and scratches.  I worked my way through the pages and found the other driver’s account was that the accident had happened on a main road.  They had stopped at a pedestrian crossing and I had gone into the back of the car.  The next three hours were spent on the phone trying to find the right person to speak to at  my insurance.  Round and round I went. Everyone was very pleasant and did their best.  Transferred me to what they thought was the right place but it never was.  Lunch was forgotten about, afternoon tea was ignored.  In the end I found not the right person but someone who really knew who the right person was.  They, of course were not available but will phone me in the next 24 hours.  Soothing noises were made and I was told I wouldn’t be out of pocket.  I hope they are right.
I was so shattered I went round to the village shop and bought a bottle of wine and the first crisps since Christmas. It’s quite possible I ‘m going to end up sozzled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.