Ornamental

Peloton presented me with a brand new 45 minute outdoor walk this morning with one of my favourite walking instructors, so I took a different route to work in order to make the walk last 45 minutes (it's 39 minutes by the direct route). This took me up East Claremont Street and then up the north face of the New Town (Dublin Street) into St Andrew's Square, where I found these ornamental thistles outlined against the sky. Onwards up the Mound and then round to Brew Lab to pick up a take away coffee. A good walk, if sweaty. And not busy. On the other hand, when I came out of work just after 5pm it was impossible to make progress on the pavements.... The only option is to get the 35 and walk back, either from Kirkgate or, if I want a longer walk, from the bottom of Easter Road.

Between the two ends of the day, I had a useful time with a number of meetings, and some screen time, although the latter was tricky because I forgot my reading glasses (again...). I definitely need another pair of reading glasses to keep in the office...these are not, however, your cheap and cheerful things... the lenses, even if fitted in old frames, won't come in much under £300 I wouldn't think. But needs must.

Another beautiful day in the not so frozen north. We sat after dinner with a gin. It was extremely pleasant...indeed still is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.