Real scenes

We had a gorgeous early morning walk down the Water of Leith and back to the supermarket to pick up some stuff mainly needed for the weekend, but also butter for today's pasties. We then popped in to the relatively new bakery at the bottom of the Walk, where I've been before a few times and bought some cinnamon buns. As I thought, but hadn't previously dared to say when I went in before, the owners are friends of friends.... She insisted on giving me a hug when she learned who I was!

All of that, before it got too hot.

Between about 11am and 5pm it was really very hot, although I stupidly went out on the balcony to remove the sweet peas, because they have died a death and were just looking messy. That was a sweaty business. When it turned out that the Peloton was "down" when I wanted to do a workout, instead I thought to go to Quirky's and buy a couple of bedding plants to put in the gaps that are left where the sweet peas were. In fact, Quirky's was closed, so instead I went into the Opticians next door and booked an eye test, with a view to getting a couple of pairs of new glasses.

Meanwhile, I more or less finished the chapter I have been working on. I just need to sort out the conclusion now. I should manage that on Friday.

We sat out for a long time after dinner....but it was quite noisy for the first couple of hours, because the drilling rig and concrete pump were working late. Hey ho. Just before we came indoors just now, as it started to get dark, my brother phoned with some family news. My aunt has died.

Perhaps not the warmest day of the year. That honour still attaches to the 30 degree day in July. But still remarkable - and generally very pleasant - for Edinburgh in August.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.