Slow Wine

I woke up this morning feeling like I had a cold. I rather hoped relaxing with a good cup of tea would drive the feeling away but unfortunately it didn't. All day I have been very slow. Walking 50 m felt really tiring and doing gardening was out of the question.
We contacted our pals and explained the situation and decided to cancel our trip tomorrow, as they don't want to take chances on getting a bug, or possibly THE bug.
One job we did do today was bottling up this 25 year old berry wine. The label, written elegantly on masking tape, says "Frozen berry wine, 1997". It was made with berries from the freezer. I guess 1997 was a good year for berries so we had to clear out the old to make room for the new. The wine is a fantastic colour and very clear, and tastes rich, if a bit dry. Tired out by the arduous task of bottling 6 bottles of wine I then spent a lot of time in the hammock, reading my book. This evening we drank some of the wine mixed with fizzy water and it was very refreshing.
I'm still feeling slow so dinner is a couple of slices of bread and then to bed or the tv. In my optimistic way I'll finish with; hopefully I'll be much better tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.