Ooh two faries! Good job they were there in the sunshine, when I got home from the charity shop and realised I hadn't taken a photo!

Busy, busy in the shop, even with the heat outside. We quite often find empty hangers on the rails, i.e. someone has stolen the garment, but this morning a woman ran off with a Furby! "Quick" said Mark, Julie was, and found the offending woman in the next charity shop. Julie knew the woman, she comes in every week and is an alcoholic, but Julie always impresses me with how she deals with these situations, with understanding, humour but firmness. The woman paid for the toy and went off to the pub :-(

I left at about 1.45pm as I had to shop, get home and then go and collect my son and partner for dinner, getting back to mine before a recommended builder called to give me a quote.

I shopped in the Aldi near to the Mind shop, there isn't one near to where I live, but didn't think they were especially cheap although the chickpeas were on offer..  but there were no cucumbers. I'll stick with Tesco and Asda thankyou.

In the event the builder texted to say he'd left work early, feeling ill, and had tested positive. He's calling round next week now.

My son and partner cooked for me this evening, bacon, cheese omelette and tinned tomatoes. It fitted in with what I'm eating at the moment, but it wasn't great for them. Not enough calories, not enough VitC, no carbohydrates. 

I worry about their diet, but am unable to do anything except continue to invite them for dinner every week. They're on benefits, stuck between a rock and a hard place, they eat once a day... and not very well at that. They lack the will to alter their situation. I feel disloyal putting this on here, but it's how it is, unless they can change things. My son was brought up on a tight budget, as was my daughter. They knew not to take food from the fridge as it might've been destined for dinner, they couldn't choose their meal except on their birthday and they ate what they were given. 

My son's partner is pregnant, but I worry that they can't afford a child, that their diet isn't good enough to support a pregnancy. Of course the baby won't suffer, it will take all it needs from the mother.... but there's a limit to what I can do, how I can help.

Later I've had a chat over WhatsApp with Mary. Lovely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.