The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Pug-nacious

The annual Wheel Nuts motor show was being held in the grounds of the special school where I work, so we went along for support, and a blip. CleanSteve was immediately drawn in by the motorbikes. I tried, but as far as I'm concerned, when I have seen 20 classics cars or bikes, they all begin to blur. Some of the owners were wearing period costume to go with their cars, and while CleanSteve chatted to some Cadillac owners who looked as if they had stepped off the Bugsy Malone film set, I watched this little pug drama unfold.

The pup is a pug, but apart from his mother, he has never seen another pug. So he is very curious about this one, but the owner of the bigger pug dragged it away after a brief encounter, leaving the little one staring at the space it had inhabited, long after it had vanished. I felt sad for it; I guess I never realised that pugs in particular have feelings until I witnessed this meeting. I've never really got over the squashed-face look, but I know they are popular pets.

We stayed at the show for over an hour, and I was delighted to find, among the less glamorous cars, a blue Ford Consul Cortina. Our family had one (the estate version) for several years, when we lived in Ireland, and it was my role to sit in the boot, as if I were a dog. I didn't mind that much, but it would be outlawed now, of course. So perhaps it is appropriate that I blipped some dogs instead of a car, while at a car show! CleanSteve will have a fabulous car shot, but I just can't get excited about them. Now, if they were books...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.