Giving Me the Eye

Having umm'd and ah'd over moving up to a full frame camera, after almost a year with my Canon R6 I don't know why I hesitated; the step up in image quality is amazing!  However, I was always a little disappointed with the kit lens, not least because it didn't enable all of the features of the camera body, including in-camera multi-exposure (I had to use my old EF lenses for that).  So I've traded it in, along with a couple of other old EF-S lenses, for the RF 24-105mm f/4 L lens.

I picked the lens up today and headed over to the National Trust's Sheffield Park and Gardens to play.

Walking through the woodlands trying to escape the heat of the day, I just had to try out the multi-exposure feature ... what a delight not having to swap a "walk-about" lens in order to try this out.  There were a few trig and branch sculptures around and this one of an oval frame made out woven branches caught my attention. I took a double exposure, one in focus with a reasonable DOF and one out of focus at f/4 for minimum DOF.  

Back at base, I rotated it 90° and part of a face appeared with an eye looking intensely at me as if to say "why are you disturbing me?".  Otherwise, apart from minor raw processing tweaks, this is straight out of camera. Oh what fun I may have in future!

P.S. from a quick review of  the other images taken with this lens, I am already over the moon with my new purchase!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.