Garlic

Today’s events were:

• Getting an overdue haircut with the Lebanese dude working in a salon here. I asked him to avoid leaving me looking like a half-mown egg this time and he gave commentary on my hairline. ‘It’s only this area that’s bad; this part is still good.’
• Michelle and I resolved that Swahili is the ‘garlic of languages’ as there is lots to unpack. Every time you think you’ve mastered a set of prefixes, another comes along.
• I went to a Turkish restaurant and ate a massive cheese pide (pita bread) which left my mouth hurting due to a) my incapacitated jaw and b) the strength of the cheese.
• I mistakenly spoke Portuguese to the tuk tuk driver instead of (very rudimentary) Swahili. I’ve gotta get with the programme.
• Ma and Pa celebrated 47 years of wedded bliss.

Dar es Salaam has so many attractive looking plant and plant pot sellers by the roadside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.