Morning Damsel

I photograph my friend the willow emerald damselfly every morning in Butterfly Alley. It appears that he's just perched there doing nothing but every now and again he darts into the air and returns to his perch immediately. I hadn't realised that he catches tiny insects on these mini forays. I was quite concerned this morning because we couldn't find him at first and was thinking that he might have been taken by a bird. I've photographed females here too. It would be great to get them in tandem.

It has been too hot for photography today. Ollie dog and I went down the field this evening and the sun was still very hot after seven. Commas were flitting about and I spotted one red admiral. Butterfly bedtime is usually around five. :)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.