Multiple peace lily flowers!

The peace lily with brown leaves that had one flower is growing another flower, so now I have two double-flowered peace lilies. I can’t believe they’re doing so well!

I’ve brought the only one that isn’t flowering back into the kitchen to make space for this other plant that really likes the light. If it’s in dim light, it grows crazily, seeking any light it can get.

The spot where the non-flowering peace lily was gets lots of light, without too much direct sunlight. The light-loving plant was quite happy out there, but I moved it back inside after the Great Fungus Gnat Infestation of 2022. Hopefully, the light will rein in its crazy growth. I might have to chop bits off it.

I put the original Tesco herbs, the suspected cause of the Great Fungus Gnat Infestation of 2022, outside after it seemed like Sammy had removed all their fungus gnats to make space for other plants beside Sammy. I didn’t bring them back in the house in case they still had eggs or larvae knocking about in the soil.

The coriander has died. The mint pretended to die, but has sprung back to life. The parsleys (curly and flat leafed) are doing ok. I thought the basil would be really happy outside (as long as I watered it) because it comes from the Mediterranean, but it looks worse than ever. I’ve brought it inside to see if that makes it any happier.

The chilli plant is growing little chillis that are starting to turn purple, and the fuchsia is still flowering.

All this plant talk reminds me that my begonia needs watering – it helpfully droops to let me know. Oh, and who knew begonias flowered? Not I, but they do. Mine did anyway, despite the neglect. But there’s another bud.

I hope I’m right in my theory that a plant is doing well if it flowers. Either that or it’s a sign that it’s trying to get the next generation into the world before carking it!


The weather continues to be too hot. We went to the pub to sit by the river, only to find most riverside tables were reserved. A pair of toothless crones said we should sit down anyway – the people would soon enough ask us to move when they got there. We heeded not their words; we sat elsewhere: there’s no guarantee that there’d be a table elsewhere free by that time, and what’s the point in sitting somewhere you know you’re going to have to move from anyway?

I was hoping for a cooling riparian breeze, but there was a surprisingly strong wind – warm – coming from the land. Very disappointing.

And now East Anglia, amongst other regions of rainy ol’ England, is officially having a drought. A drought?!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.