Roses

We got home about 12.30am. A long and tiring day. Thank you all for joining me on my wonderful Umbrian holiday, and for the stars and hearts. I’m hoping to get back to commenting on journals soon.

Today was mainly about getting clothes washing done and trying to deal with the jungle in the garden. Mr C picked blackcurrants - I was so glad they weren’t over by the time we got home. We’ve both weeded and I managed to get enough roses for my only vase of the year, the first blooming being hoovered up by deer at the succulent bud stage. Those that came on again would have been at their best when we were away. All the garden is suffering from lack of water. Mr C will get the hose out when it cools down a bit. It’s been a glorious day - blue skies, sunshine and a very slight cooling breeze.

I’ve just been having a break, sitting under the shade reading “Small Things Like These” as I’m going to hear Claire Keegan at the book festival on Saturday. It’s a hauntingly beautiful book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.