I'm watching you!

Left Edinboro' before 10 this morning intending to detour into Falkirk to visit the Kelpies on the way home. For those of you who haven't yet met them, here's a brief introduction - 

"Standing at 100ft tall and weighing more than 300 tonnes each, the magical Kelpies are a man-made wonder and a feat of engineering. The works of art, created by artist Andy Scott, have become iconic on the landscape after being modelled on real-life icons of times gone by — Clydesdale horses Duke and Baron. The Kelpies represent the lineage of the heavy horse of Scottish industry and economy, pulling the wagons, ploughs, barges and coal ships that shaped the geographical layout of Falkirk."

I've seen them so often from the adjacent M9, but it was good to have a look from close up. They sit between the River Carron and a new section of the Forth & Clyde Canal - see 1st extra. Unfortunately they weren't placed with photographers in mind, as power lines pass behind them and there are lamp poles and all sorts of signs around them. It was quite fun trying to take photographs while avoiding all the surrounding paraphernalia! It was certainly busy - they've become a popular tourist attraction.

While approaching the Kelpies I noticed a huge stack of containers in the distance and drove around trying to find a good vantage point. I could imagine they might become a piece of modern art - a man-made Ayers Rock perhaps! Anyway, worth putting on as an extra, I thought.

When I'd got to some 20 miles from Oban I noticed that the road was wet and it continued to rain lightly until I got home. Mrs M said that it had rained quite hard in the morning. Would anyone like me to send them some water? Now as I write this the sun is out again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.