Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Lily the . . . . . . . . . white.

A changeable day - it began rather dull but at least dry. Drove down to the town to post a couple of parcels and couldn't find anything suitable for a Blip. Tesco's car park isn't very photogenic!

Fortunately my potful of Lilium sargentiae has just begun to flower. This is an amazing lily, a tall plant, a native of Sichuan in China, where apparently it enjoys baking hot summers and freezing cold winters, just like Argyll - NOT! Having said that, it turned very sunny this afternoon and later on we sat outside with a cuppa - a perfect blue sky with not a cloud in sight. The thermometer facing the sun recorded 34.5 degrees, not a patch on the 51 degrees during the hot spell a couple of months ago. I've left the maximum reading on the thermometer just to remind me why why we so often had to go indoors!

I was about to write to the councillor I met yesterday when I realised that McCaig's and Jacob's Ladder weren't actually in his ward! I rather thought he would have known! I wrote to the right man and he responded almost immediately with a rendezvous for Friday morning. I hope this might come to something!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.