Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

The prettiest sight of the day!

I emerged to a dull morning, but on checking the forecast it said 'Heavy rain at 2pm', so I thought I'd do a litter pick right away so I didn't have to take a jacket! A hi-viz over a shirt was warm enough.

I began at McCaig's Tower - not much litter, but the viewing gallery was flooded again and you could see the wet footprints where people were walking over the seats rather than go through the wide puddle! Jacob's Ladder was another story. Broken glass down the steps, cans and bottles and takeaway containers too far over the fence to reach with my litter picker, the still broken fence above the steep drop and beside one of the seats a pile of small self-seal plastic bags - drug dealing again? I was embarrassed to see all this crap when the Ladder was full of tourists coming up to see McCaig's Tower; some I spoke to were off the cruise ship. Whatever do they think? I have a Teams presentation to the council on Wednesday evening to tell them the story of Keep Oban Beautiful and I shall make use of it to ask what's going to be done about it. We're a tourist town for goodness' sake!

As I left the bottom of the Ladder I met one of our local councillors and asked him if he would join me sometime soon for a walk around the area to see the less than beautiful sights and sites. I don't think he wanted to, but could hardly get out of it! I shall make an arrangement!

Anyway, after a few chats with friends and neighbours I arrived home in time for lunch. Did some pott(er)ing in and around the greenhouse this afternoon - the forecast heavy rain turned out to be just occasional light showers. Rather than a picture of rubbish, my Blip today is of my plant of Bomarea edulis, growing up a tripod of 8ft canes in a pot on the deck. A member of the Alstroemeria family, it's native to the warmer parts of Mexico, southern USA and the Caribbean, though has proved hardy outside in a pot through the last seven winters. The tubers can be used as a substitute for potatoes, though I've never tried!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.