Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A raft of ducks

Today was a big day for Oban - both the Raft Race and the Duck Race!  We drove down for the fresh fish in the morning and intended to be down at the seafront again - on foot - by 1pm for the start of the Raft Race. We were a bit late in leaving and by the time we got there it was over! I think it must have started early, but all the rafts were back on the beach when we arrived! Not to worry, there's always next year! 

Mrs M made her way home, but having an hour and a half before the duck race I walked out along the Esplanade to see the cruise ship that was anchored behind the island of Kerrera. She was the 'Europa', "a ship that sets the global benchmarks for luxury cruises" according to her owners. By the time I was back in town the start of the duck race was near so I found myself a spot along the wall and waited for the launch of the ducks into the Black Lynn - see extra. I walked down to the seafront to await their arrival out into the bay. The prize for winning duck number 56 went to Roddy's Garage - they must have charged company expenses! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.