Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Do you want to know a secret?

Well I went down to the Walled Garden this morning to see if any runner beans or peas were ready for picking. All the peas were dead except for one - that had two pods! Many of the runner beans had reached the top of the poles, there were flowers in profusion, and yes! I found a bean - only the one! This is the first time that I've not had more beans that I can eat, but I hope there will be many to come in the next month or so, probably while I'm away in London!

Fortunately Jo, the manager, was there and told me to pick some beans from the Green Shoots beds as they had more than they needed! At least we'll have enough for several meals now!

After lunch I drove up to a friend's nursery at Bonawe and had a wander round the wild garden. We sat in front of a wood-burner - not that it was cold, but it was the only way to heat the water for a cup of coffee! - and talked plants.

I noticed that he'd been making up some 'Secret Garden' signs - apparently he was thinking of a public opening some time and thought that would be a good name. I couldn't resist putting all the signs together for my Blip today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.