The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Lazy Sunday

I may have blipped a very similar scene before. It's the view from my hammock on a sunny day. I lay and read for several hours (I had put up a parasol, so I was in partial shade) and may have fallen asleep, too.

But first, our trip to one of the supermarket: Went to Waitrose because I had a money-off voucher, and there was a pizza offer. I planned to buy a book with the voucher. First setback was, the pizza offer was sold out. A few pizzas were all that was left, a space where the side dishes should have been, and just one or two puddings. I was forced to give up on that idea.  

Secondly,  all the lights and fridges flickered and went out, not once, not twice, but three times. A strange hush came over the store each time, unfortunately filled by my swear words on the first occasion.  Thirdly, the book I'd seen on the shelves  a month or two ago was long gone. I didn't even bother to ask about it, because the weekend staff are very young and still struggling. 

Finally, as I started to queue for the checkout, there was a loud explosion in the bag of the customer in front of me! One of his bottles of pop had literally gone pop! Seldom has a trio to Waitrose been fraught with such jeopardy. It's almost as unusual  as the 2007 floods in-store experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.