curns' corner

By curns

Herring and shots

I was up and in a cab at 5am. Not where I wanted to be after a lovely weekend but my £100 cab ride got me to Stansted Airport about 6:20am.  As part of the Ryanair ticket, work had paid for express security.  The queues were horrendous and it took almost an hour to get through whereupon there was nowhere to sit because the place was so busy. There was a 20 minute queue for the gents; lounges were full and I really couldn’t be bothered to try to queue for any breakfast.

We landed at Katowice in Poland about 11:45 where our colleagues had arranged a driver to pick us up.  It was about a 30 minute journey before we arrived at their campus in Gliwice. It’s very impressive and reminded me of the things Facebook tries to do on their campus.  The subsidised canteen encourages people to stay on site and, as we discovered, provides a delicious lunch.

We were working until about 4pm when the cab came and took us to the hotel to prepare for dinner. We had a delicious meal at a restaurant that, I think, was called Plado. It was very civilised. But, afterwards, we went to a bar that was called “Ministry of Herring and Vodka” where the team arranged for various plates of herring and shots: some of which were quite drinkable. 

Back to hotel before 11:30pm seemed like a win. I was exhausted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.