Now we have everything

By Gembop

Heading Home

The first picture of our new family of three, taken this evening as we were just about to leave the hospital.

We slept a little better last night, though not enough as the bags can attest! The fan in the room made the temperature bearable and the door kept most of the noise out.

Robin had brought my pregnancy/feeding pillow from home and it came in very handy as Charlie woke to feed a lot in the night.

I was determined to be discharged today but despite mentioning it to the midwife first thing this morning it took until late afternoon for it to actually happen.

We waited all morning for the doctor to come round but the number of patients meant they were very behind apparently. Finally someone stopped by to run through the discharge check list (including warning us against swaddling though a midwife had shown us how only the day before ?!) and give me my medication to take home. She wasn't sure why I'd been given one particular drug as I hadn't been taking it so far and it's got some unhappy side effects apparently! Nice.

Rob had gone home for a quick sleep and mum helped with Charlie while I slowly got ready. She came in carrying another balloon because the one she bought yesterday was apparently going down already. I don't think Charlie noticed ;)

Rob and I had emailed the NCT group last night to let them know about Charlie's arrival and discovered that Matt and Katrina had their boy yesterday - also by C section. His name is Stanley. Funnily enough they were moved to the bed we vacated!

I said I'd stop by before we headed off. However when Robin came back with my dad Matt had beaten me to it and knocked on our door. Whilst he was talking to the family, I went to see Katrina and meet Stanley. The first thing I said to her was 'he looks like mine!' Clearly the lack of sleep has taken its toll!

Stanley was born the day after Charlie but after a much longer labour. Her contractions started New Year's Eve. I suggested we email in the week on how it was going and left to go back to my little guy. Robin was dressing him in his Winnie the Pooh going home outfit.

Dad drove us home and I spent most of the journey holding onto the roof handle to brace myself for every bloody speedbump in Highgate. Charlie was oblivious and slept the whole way.

Finally we had our little man home. My dad had made us a proper meal to come to- pork chops - which we had then went to bed. He, on the other hand, drove back to Nottingham ready to bring my sister for a visit tomorrow bless him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.