Now we have everything

By Gembop

First Day At Home

I slept for 2 hours last night with the baby on my chest after a long night of crying/ not feeding. In the end we gave Charlie his first bottle. He drank half straight away but he was so worked up and windy that he struggled to settle.

Mum came in at 8am and took him downstairs so we could get some rest but despite feeling very tired I couldn't sleep so followed her down.

Baby blues hit me like a tonne of bricks. I was crying as mum was making toast in the other room but stopped when she came back in. I know it's just hormones mixed with feelings of pain and exhaustion. Plus feeding struggles were getting me down.

Charlie had another bottle and was sleeping the best I'd seen him do since he was born. He looked very content so I was able to relax and unpack until mum made me sit down.

The doorbell rang at 1pm and though I was expecting a midwife I was really pleased to see it was my midwife Ann. She gave me a massive hug and complemented Charlie. He has a touch of jaundice but it should disappear on its own over the next few days.

She was also very supportive about our choice to combination feed so early and said that if he's happy and easily switching between both then it should be fine and to do what's right for us. I've always liked how down to earth and not preachy she is. importantly she weighed Charlie and although he had lost a few ounces it was within the 'normal' tolerance level.

She said I'd get my stitches taken out at the next visit but not to worry which of course immediately set me worrying- especially when she told me how they do it!

As she was leaving Laura, Dad, Lewis and Ollie arrived. Laura's been dying to meet Charlie so once she got a hold she wouldn't let go :)

I was made to stay in my spot on the sofa and we had a lovely afternoon eating Chinese food, taking the tree down (with me directing them on which box each decoration goes in heh) and dad installed our new Christmas present: a tumble drier.

They left about 7pm and I fell asleep on the sofa from 8:30 to 1:30am!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.