Regional Produce

One of the things I love about France is that you find the food varies according to the region. We have a bit of that but it's all pretty homogenous. Whereas in the east of France they pride themselves on their special meat products. Veggies, look away now.

I took a walk this morning after breakfast and popped into the market hall. This lady very proudly showed me the quiches and hams on her stall. I explained that I couldn't buy anything because I am travelling, but she was quite happy to be snapped.

And then round the corner was a little butchers' shop which proclaimed they are the French black pudding champions. (See extra). I could see trophies along the counter and shelves so went in and asked Patricia about their accomplishments. 

She told me that they were the French champions year after year for andouillettes, foie gras*, black pudding, white pudding and probably others. 

And now to the alps where it will be fondues and stuff for a few days. Yum.

* I know, I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.