Troyes

Well, many thanks for your advice yesterday regarding how many cameras I should take away with me. I decided to take just one but find I have got three in my bag plus lenses. I had the space so it seemed logical. Plus a tripod.

On my journey to the alps I have stopped overnight at Troyes in the champagne region. It's a beautiful city with timber framed buildings everywhere. And a lot of them are very bashed up and frayed around the edges. See extras, although looking again the timber framing doesnt show on these examples. 

Wandering around I poked my nose into the open doors of an upholsterer's workshop. Jean Philippe  was outside having a fag break but happily came back inside when I explained that I would love to get a picture. He obliged by doing a bit of hammering and then showed me four Louis ( not sure which number) 16th century  chairs he is working on. Wonderful to watch a craftsman at work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.