Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Delivery!

This was a long shot that paid off.  I knew that the railway was getting a guest engine for the steam gala in September, a loan from the Gloucester Warwickshire Railway.  I also knew that it left Gloucestershire yesterday on its way here.  I reckoned it would arrive here today, so late afternoon I went down to Sheringham to see if it was there.  I couldn't have timed it better; the engine was on the back of the low loader and was about to be unloaded onto the track.  There was a small crowd there to watch who might have got in the way of the shots but they were all asked to move back for safety reasons so I got a clear view.  Assuming there is a bit more rain so the fire risk is lowered, it will be good to see it steaming next month.

For those who are interested, it is a Great Western Railway 2-8-0T No 4270, built in 1919 and withdrawn from service in 1962.  It was finally restored and returned to steam in 2014.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.